Happy Birthday to My Beautiful Mommy Li

It is never easy for me (or anyone) to figure out what to get my mom for her birthdays. Proof? One of her friends just purchased her a Petco gift card so she could buy treats for our dog. Not once has she ever asked for anything, not even a simple piece of jewelry. She’s the type to spend her birthday gift cards purchasing things for me and my brother (or in this case, my dog).

The rest of the family realized that what truly makes her happy is a simple dinner with everyone, followed by scrumptious cake. Because my brother and I can’t exactly be there with her during her birthdays due to school, I figured this year I’d make her a (cup)cake anyway.

So happy happy birthday to my mommy dearest. I owe you a dinner when I get home!  Hope you don’t mind that I’m eating your cake for you this year :)


Healthy Shortcut Coconut Lemon Cupcakes w. Blueberry Frosting

Ingredients:

1 box vanilla cake mix (I used Cherrybrook brand)
3/4 cup water
1/3 cup no sugar added applesauce
zest of 1 lemon
1/2 cup shredded coconut

Blueberry frosting:

16 oz. vanilla frosting (can be homemade, of course)
1 pt blueberries, washed and drained

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
2. In a large mixing bowl, mix together cake mix, water, applesauce, zest and coconut
3. Fill up cupcake liners
4. Bake for 15-20 minutes

5.Meanwhile, pulse blueberries in food processor until it becomes a jam-like consistency.
6.Pour blueberries into a strainer and strain juices into a bowl. You may need a fork or spoon to force the juice to come out.
7. Add blueberry juice to frosting a few drops at a time, and continue to mix until desired color/consistency has been reached.

Wait for the cupcakes to cool before frosting!! (Never patient enough for this step)

Makes approximately 24 cupcakes.

Quick, delicious, and healthier than your normal butter-and-eggs cupcakes.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Happy Birthday to My Beautiful Mommy Li

  1. Brian Norris says:

    You are an awesome daughter! I’m quite sure your Mum will love this. :) I love the photo and the blueberry cupcake sounds AWESOME. :)

  2. MappedbyJenn says:

    Haha. Did you make her a cupcake, take a picture of it and then ate it yourself?

Leave a Reply

