I Need Me Some Brain Food.

I am currently being owned by Senior year. I know there’s trouble when the level of procrastination increases along with the workload. Internship applications are due in two months but my mind stubbornly only thinks about glycolysis and how the next Biochemistry exam is going to kill me. Despite all the stress, I’m still smiling every single day. And FYI, they’re genuine smiles. I owe many thanks to a few things that keep my happiness level in check:

1. Friends & family – yes, this includes you. No matter how busy you get, never forget how important and helpful it may be to take some time out of your schedule to catch up with the people you love. Even a few minutes of chatting goes a long way.

2. The month of October – every year, I get so excited when the world around me turns into a shade of orange/red. The foliage, apples, and pumpkins remind me that a new season has arrived, with even more to look forward to. The only bad thing about its beauty is that I find myself periodically going to the park when I have a million other things to get done. But it’s so worth it sometimes.

3. Food – Don’t forget to take care of your health before anything else. Work should never take precedent over feeding yourself. I lost track of this concept when I found myself eating PBJ’s for the past week…which was when I decided to cook something that might stimulate my brain into understanding biochem.

Rosemary Roasted Butternut Squash

Rosemary Roasted Butternut Squash with Agave Soy Salmon

Squash:

1/2 butternut squash, peeled and cubed
1-2 Tablespoons olive oil
1 Tablespoon rosemary, finely chopped

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.
2. Toss ingredients together, scatter squash on baking tray, and bake for 25-30 minutes, or until squash is cooked through. (You can test by poking a fork through it)

Agave Soy Salmon
*note: honey can be substituted for the agave

1 lb (or 4 individual filets) of salmon
2 Tablespoons soy sauce
1 Tablespoon agave
1 clove garlic, minced
1 Tablespoon ginger, minced.

1. Marinate the salmon in a ziplock bag with the rest of the ingredients for about 1-2 hours.
2. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
3. Line a baking tray with aluminum foil (for easy clean up), and bake salmon for 12-15 minutes, depending on thickness of salmon.

Disclaimer: Eating this meal will not help you get an A in biochem.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Need Me Some Brain Food.

  1. Brian Norris says:

    ¡Muy bien! mi pequeña amiga bonita! Mi gusta leer tu blog!

    Nicely done, dear one. I am a big fan of your photos. Especially the lines in your second leafy photo, with the way the sidewalk curves through the photo. Very nice!

    I’m also impressed with your write up. Nicely written, engaging and interesting. Though, I’m not a fan of anything with rosemary, so I’ll abstain from trying this particular dish. The photo does look beautiful though. :)

    Disclaimer: reading this reply to your post will not assist you in getting an A in Español.

  2. May I suggest substituting another herb? :) Butternut squash is absolutely delicious and so versatile. Muchas gracias, señor Noris, siempre estoy feliz cuando mi hermano mayor cumplidos mis fotos.

Leave a Reply

