Mini Pumpkin Cinnamon Roll Pancakes … seriously.

One of the most important things I’ve learned as a Nutrition major is that everything fits into a healthy diet. Dietitians are always looked at as the “food police” – but they are actually the complete opposite! If you think about it, society dictates the “ideal” body image for men and women. In return, crazy diets are created to help people achieve this image, telling us what we should or shouldn’t eat.

If I ever wrote a ‘diet’ book, it would consist of one page that says:

“If you are an average human being, meaning you are free of allergies or diseases, you can eat every single food that exists in this world. Just not too much of it.

And this is true even for the healthiest of foods; if you eat too much of one thing, it means your body is not getting enough of something else. So I felt perfectly happy when I created this pancake recipe. It was inspired by two things:

1) My awesome friend (the same one who gave me the vegan scone recipe) baked me this delicious vegan pumpkin bread, which instantly put me in the mood for something pumpkin-y.
2) Another friend sent me this recipe which resulted in major droolage all over my keyboard. (Ok that was gross. I’m sorry.) So putting the two inspirations together created this really, really delicious masterpiece. Really. And yes, it contains real sugar and real butter, because I’m a real person.

*Note: I halved all the ingredients listed below to make smaller portions and it turned out just fine.

Mini Pumpkin Cinnamon Roll Pancakes

Um. Yum?

Adapted slightly from here.

Pumpkin pancakes:
1 cup all purpose flour
1 Tablespoon sugar
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice
1/2 cup + 1 tablespoon canned pumpkin
1 cup milk (I had skim in my fridge, feel free to substitute with dairy-free/other alternatives)
1 tablespoon vegetable oil
1 egg

Cinnamon roll swirl:
1/2 cup butter, melted
3/4th cup brown sugar, packed
1 Tablespoon ground cinnamon

..And if you’re feeling adventurous:

Cream Cheese “syrup”:
1 tablespoon butter
2 ounces cream cheese
1/2 cup powdered sugar

Directions:

1. Make the cinnamon filling first by melting the butter in the microwave, then combining it with the sugar and cinnamon. Set aside to let it thicken.
2. For the pancakes, combine all the dry ingredients, then incorporate wet.
3. Spray and heat a nonstick pan. Add pancake batter ~ 1/4th cup at a time. Using a spoon or a squeeze bottle, drizzle the cinnamon roll filling on top.
4. When batter begins bubble, flip over. Pancakes should be done after 1 minute.
5. Repeat.

For the cream cheese glaze:
Melt butter and cream cheese and combine with the powdered sugar.

*I skipped the cream cheese syrup part, and instead drizzled it with maple syrup flavored agave and powdered sugar. I don’t think I’m missing out on much :)


This entry was posted in desserts, recipes, Sweets. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Mini Pumpkin Cinnamon Roll Pancakes … seriously.

  1. Looks really yummy Tori! I may have to make that tomorrow :)

  2. Amy – Thanks! We should totally make it for counseling class ;)

Leave a Reply

