Homemade Cinnamon Applesauce

I’m an Autumn girl. Once the weather dips below 70 degrees, I get excited and rationalize that it’s ok to start drinking soup and sipping hot beverages again. While summer isn’t quite over yet (evidenced by the 80-something degree weather we had today), I was still in the mood to make something related to the Fall season. Once I walked into the grocery store, I noticed that berries were no longer the center of attention in the produce section. Rather, barrels of apples took its place (one of the perks to living upstate!).

So there I stood, blocking the path of the nice customers trying to pick their produce, Googling applesauce recipes with my iPhone (I realize this has become a bad habit of mine). I was so happy to find that making applesauce requires very little ingredients and work.

Cinnamon Applesauce

Cinnamon Applesauce
(Slightly adapted from allrecipes.com)

2 lbs of apples of your choice
1.25 cups of water
1 cinnamon stick
1/2 lemon

1. Core and roughly chop apples (I left skin intact for a boost of nutrition)
2. In a medium pot, add apples, water, juice of 1/2 lemon, and cinnamon stick.
3. Cover and bring to a boil.
4. When boiling, turn down to a simmer and partially cover. Let simmer for 25-30 minutes, or until apples are soft and begin to break apart.
5. Remove from heat completely, and allow to cool.
6. Remove cinnamon stick. In a blender or food processor, blend apple mixture.
7. Top with additional cinnamon (optional)

Makes about 4 cups.

If you prefer a sweeter applesauce, add 1/4th cup of sugar in step 2.

Other than learning how easy it is to make applesauce, I also learned that cinnamon sticks make a great substitute for air fresheners! My apartment smells so delicious.

This entry was posted in desserts, Dips & sauces, Healthy, Sweets, vegan, Vegetarian. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Homemade Cinnamon Applesauce

  1. Jun says:

    Love this!!! Will be a nice change from pineapple sauce I used to have

  2. Thanks! Pineapple sauce?? Sounds delicious.

  3. Have to try this out! The photo is amazing :)

Leave a Reply

