Vegan Chocolate Chip Scones

I have never purposely cooked a vegan meal or dish for anyone, myself included. And by “purposely”, I mean that I have never intentionally went into a grocery store seeking vegan ingredients to prepare for dinner that night. My excuse: I am always intimidated by the price of certain vegan foods. The truth: I am too lazy to look up vegan recipes.

So when my two good friends Brian & Kristina invited me over to their place for dinner and I promised to bring dessert, I was excited yet caught in a situation where I had no idea exactly what type of dessert to make. Kristina has been vegan for a while now, so I was certain her vegan cooking skills were quite a bit better than mine. I ended up making simple chocolate covered strawberries, which we all enjoyed after Kristina’s lovely pasta dish.

After a few hours of lounging around and consuming almost all of the chocolate strawberries, Kristina sent me home with a book, a recipe for vegan chocolate chip scones, a box of Ener-G egg substitute, and the promise that these scones were easy to make and absolutely delicious.

Two days later, I was on the mission to make the best tasting vegan scones ever. The result? I made the best tasting vegan scones ever. (Although this statement might be a bit unfair…considering they were the first vegan scones I’ve ever eaten). But you get the point.Since I don’t have permission from the book ‘The Joy of Vegan Baking’ to reprint the recipe, I will entertain you with only pictures today.

The ingredients!

Mixing the dry and wet ingredients together: key is to make sure you do not over-mix. Over mixing will develop more gluten, which won’t produce the flakiness that we want in a scone.

Crumbly mixed ingredients!

Out of the oven!

(Almost) into my mouth!

 Thanks again Kristina for the great recipe!

This entry was posted in chocolate, desserts, Sweets, vegan, Vegetarian. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

