3 Ingredient Creamsicles

I used to be so upset that the ice cream truck never stopped anywhere on my block, mainly due to the fact that I grew up in a house located on a busy street. I would sprint up and peek out my window whenever I heard the truck’s annoying little jingle, only to see it make a turn down the next block. Luckily for me, the same truck would always be parked at 3 PM right across the street from my elementary school. So if the parents allowed it, I would make my way up to the truck window, and order the same thing every time: an Orange Creamsicle bar. There was something so refreshing about biting into the thin layer of orange-flavored sherbet followed by creamy vanilla ice cream.

I haven’t had orange creamsicle’s since my elementary school days, so passing them in the freezer aisle at the supermarket brought back such yummy memories. Upon grabbing the box, I took a glance at the nutrition label, and although not entirely surprised, I was still dismayed to see the long list of ingredients:

                     Nonfat milk, water, liquid sugar, high fructose corn syrup, maltodextrin, corn syrup, milk fat, orange juice concentrate, citric acid, mono and diglycerides, guar gum, polysorbate 80, locust bean gum, natural flavor, ascorbic acid, annatto (for color), lowfat ice cream: nonfat milk, liquid sugar, corn syrup, milk fat, whey, maltodextrin, high fructose corn syrup, propylene glycol monoesters, cellulose gel, mono and diglycerides, cellulose gum, natural flavor, locust bean gum, polysorbate 80, guar gum, carrageenan, Vitamin A palmitate.

Something about having sugar appear 6 times on an ingredient list makes me feel queasy. Not to say sugar is a terrible thing, it’s quite a necessity in our diet. However, there are definitely ways to re-create tasty childhood treats in a healthier way.

My simple 3-ingredient Creamsicles:

End of the summer treat

Ingredients:

1 cup freshly squeezed orange juice (or 100% juice from a carton)
3/4th cup vanilla soy milk (I used Silk Very Vanilla soy milk)
1/3 cup sugar

1. Whisk orange juice,  soymilk, and sugar until sugar is dissolved
2. Fill popsicle molds
3. Freeze

(I put a layer of soy milk for aesthetic effects. Feel free to skip this part)

*Note, you may have to adjust the sugar level depending on what kind of soymilk you use, and the sweetness of the oranges used.

Simple, refreshing and light. Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Childhood memories, desserts, Healthy, Sweets, Vegetarian and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

